A need to connect

Like many people, I’m saddened by the tower block fire in London. I don’t know anyone that lived there, but just watching the news coverage over the past two days has affected me. The fear and despair that the families must have experienced, and some continue to experience as they try and locate those missing is unimaginable.

Whilst there’s many questions regarding how it happened, and what can be done to ensure it doesn’t happen again at a different tower block, I prefer to focus on the positives of how communities and emergency services have pulled together to make the best of the situation.

Nevertheless, I couldn’t help being made aware of my own mortality and that of those I love and care about. Yesterday, I felt an emotional wreck watching the coverage – experiencing emotions such as devastation, helplessness and anger. Listening to music, watching daft clips on YouTube, even watching Coronation Street brought out extreme emotion in me. I didn’t feel there was anything I could do, yet I felt compelled to message people, just to connect, to say Hi, to let them know they were in my thoughts, to let them know I care, to give them some sense of their value in my life.

Things will move on. I’ll go back to feeling normal quickly. The people in the flats will have a much longer recovery period. I’m not sure what I can do to help yet, but I’m sure I can do something.

Leave a Reply

